Eight flood shelters closed as numbers of evacuees drop to 705

  • Nation
  • Tuesday, 30 Jun 2020

KOTA KINABALU: The number of flood victims at temporary relocation centres have dropped to 705 villagers, and eight out of 17 shelters have been deactivated across five-flood stricken districts.

Sabah Civil Defence Department director Col Kamal Mokhtar announced this at 8am on Tuesday (June 30).

On Monday, the numbers of evacuees at the centres, located at the west coast and interior areas of Sabah, were as high as 1,209.

“As of midnight (Monday), we have allowed some 500 villagers to return home when the water levels at their villages receded, ” he said.

All three relocation centres in Penampang district have been closed. The remaining districts still with shelters are Kota Belud, Tenom, Beaufort and Papar.

Authorities and relevant agencies rescued and moved affected villagers to safety when continuous downpour occurred throughout Saturday evening and night (June 27).

However, the weather turned more favourable on Sunday and Monday.

As of Tuesday morning, the weather remains cloudy.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 18
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Flood , Sabah , Shelters


Did you find this article insightful?


100% readers found this article insightful

Across the site