Five sworn in as senators at Dewan Negara

  • Nation
  • Monday, 22 Jun 2020

(From left) Datuk Yakubah Khan, Rita Sarimah Patrick Insol, Susan Chemerai Anding, Datuk Bashir Alias and Robert Lau Hui Yew. -Bernamapic

KUALA LUMPUR (Bernama): Sepanggar Umno chief Datuk Yakubah Khan was among the five individuals sworn in as senators before Senate president Tan Sri S.A. Vigneswaran at Dewan Negara here Monday (June 22).

The other four were Sarawak’s Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) Wanita honorary secretary Susan Chemerai Anding; Parti Rakyat Sarawak deputy secretary-general Rita Sarimah Patrick Insol; chairman of Bawang Assan branch of Sarawak United Peoples’ Party (SUPP) Robert Lau Hui Yew; and Datuk Bashir Alias who was appointed for the second term.

Yakubah, Susan, Rita Sarimah and Lau were appointed as senators for the first time upon the consent of consent Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri'ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah. – Bernama

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Next In Nation

Period spot checks are a form of sexual abuse, says Suhakam
MACC: Probe into timber concession in Lenggeng has no links with Negri Sembilan Foundation
Dr Wee: Mutually recognised vaccine passport needed for Malaysia-EU economic recovery
Sabah Kaamatan festival to be held online, says Jeffrey
Fahmi Reza arrested, Bukit Aman investigating case for alleged sedition
Editors' Association: Liew making unfair claims about Chinese press on Jawi calligraphy issue
Motorcyclist with severe burns dies three days after collision with another
Covid-19: Eight new clusters, five linked to education sector
PM: Government is sincere and serious in tackling Covid-19
Covid-19: It’s up to Education Ministry to decide on school closure, says Ismail Sabri

Stories You'll Enjoy