At least 10 Johor Bersatu divisions back decision to remove Dr M

  • Nation
  • Friday, 29 May 2020

Johor Bersatu deputy chairman Senator Md Nasir Hashim holding a copy of the Bersatu constitution during a press conference at the Bersatu Johor Baru office, Larkin, on Friday (May 29).

JOHOR BARU: At least 10 Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Bersatu) divisions in Johor have voiced their support for the removal of Bersatu chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad and four others, and pledged support for party president Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin.

Johor Bersatu deputy chairman Senator Md Nasir Hashim said he had called 10 of the 26 Bersatu division leaders, and they had the same stance.

“I have yet to call the rest, but I believe the majority of the divisions support the decision (to remove Tun Dr Mahathir) and support the new Perikatan Nasional government.

“We hope to continue to give our support to Tan Sri Muhyiddin as the party president and the Prime Minister of today’s government, ” he said at the Bersatu Johor Baru office, Larkin, here on Friday (May 29).

“I think that there are no issues in Johor, and I'm sure the Bersatu Johor chairman (Mazlan Bujang) will also give his support, ” he said.

“We have found the perfect formula for Johor during the recent meeting with Tan Sri Muhyiddin, so there are no issues that we could not work out together.

Md Nasir said that Dr Mahathir should have respected the party constitution and followed the decision of the majority when Bersatu announced its decision to leave Pakatan Harapan.

“They should have listened to the voice of the majority. It is stated in the party constitution itself under Section 23 that all members of the party should follow the decision made by the Supreme Council, and not the other way around, ” he added.

Earlier, it was reported that Bersatu has axed Tun Dr Mahathir, his son Datuk Seri Mukhriz Mahathir, Syed Saddiq Syed Abdul Rahman and two others for sitting in the Opposition bench during the May-18 parliamentary sitting.

The other two who were removed from the party were Dr Maszlee Malik and Amiruddin Hamzah, both Bersatu supreme council members.

The decision was conveyed to them in a letter by Bersatu organising secretary Muhammad Suhaimi Yahya.

Article type: free
User access status:

Did you find this article insightful?


48% readers found this article insightful

Across the site