‘Premature to comment on Speaker post talk’

  • Nation
  • Tuesday, 14 Apr 2020

PETALING JAYA: Pengerang MP Datuk Seri Azalina Othman Said (pic) says its “premature” to respond to talk that she will be made Dewan Rakyat Deputy Speaker.

“A motion to replace and elect the (Deputy Speaker) will need to be tabled in Parliament, ” she said in a brief text message yesterday.

The Umno lawmaker was responding to a Sin Chew Daily report, quoting party sources, that she would replace DAP MP Nga Kor Ming in the post.

The report stated that Azalina has been informed about the matter by Umno president Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi.

Nga, who is the Teluk Intan MP, was elected Deputy Speaker on July 16,2018, under the Pakatan Harapan administration.

When contacted, he also said it was premature for him to comment on the matter.

“The whole country is focusing on the fight against the Covid-19 pandemic. Out of respect for Parliament, I will continue to serve faithfully unless there is a motion passed by the House to decide otherwise, ” Nga said.

According to Parliament’s Standing Orders, an election of the Deputy Speaker will occur in the House once there is a vacancy.

Standing Order 6 (2) reads: “The procedure for the election of a Timbalan Yang di-Pertua shall be, as nearly as may be, the same as that of the election of a Tuan Yang di-Pertua, save that the election shall be conducted by Tuan Yang di-Pertua.”

Standing Order 4 explains the procedure for the election of a Speaker, which states that every member who wishes to propose a person who is willing to serve as the Speaker if elected, shall notify the Dewan Rakyat Secretary of the proposal in writing at least 14 days before the Parliament meeting.

The member then presents to the House the proposal to be seconded but no debate shall be allowed.

If there is more than one member or person to be proposed and seconded, the House then proceeds to elect the Speaker via ballot.

The ballot papers are distributed to the MPs to be filled and it will be collected by the Dewan Rakyat Secretary or officers of the House to be counted. The Secretary will then declare the result.

Article type: free
User access status:

Did you find this article insightful?


60% readers found this article insightful

Across the site