Two S'wak ferry crossings closed, operating hours cut for 10 others

  • Nation
  • Thursday, 26 Mar 2020

MIRI: Ferry crossings across 12 major river tributaries in Sarawak will see operations revised in line with the effort by the government to more effectively enforce the movement control order (MCO).

Two ferry points will be closed down totally until further notice.

They are the Sungai Limbang (Sarawak-Brunei) and Sungai Krian (central Sarawak) crossings.

Ten other ferry points will see their operating hours limited to 7am-7pm daily.

These are Sg Rambungan, Sg Lupar, Sg Saribas, Sg Paloh (southern Sarawak), Muara Lassa, Sg Igan, Sg Sian (central Sarawak), Sg Kemena, Sg Lidam and Sg Lawas (northern Sarawak).

They are no longer allowed to operate flexible hours before 7am and beyond 7pm.

The State Public Works Department and the State Rivers Board have notified contractors operating these ferry services on the changes.

Written public notices have been issued at all these ferry points. Ferry operators have been instructed to inform the public on this change.

The ferries play a vital role in helping to move people and goods.

Article type: free
User access status:

Covid-19 , Sarawak , Ferries , Operations , MCO


Did you find this article insightful?


100% readers found this article insightful

Across The Star Online