RM30,000 allocation under S'gor stimulus package to be channelled to all state constituencies but not all assemblymen

  • Nation
  • Tuesday, 24 Mar 2020

KLANG: The RM30,000 allocation announced in the recent Selangor economic stimulus package will be channeled to all 56 state constituencies.

State constituencies held by Opposition assemblymen will not be deprived of the allocation but the funds will be directed to Pakatan Harapan representatives in the area for disbursement, said Mentri Besar Amirudin Shari’s political secretary Borhan Aman Shah (pic) in a statement Tuesday (March 24).

“For Opposition constituencies, the allocation will be managed by the constituency coordinators appointed by the state government or temporary coordinators who are MPs or assemblymen, ’’ said Borhan.

He added that this was the state government’s usual practice.

“The state government is channeling the allocations for everyone in Selangor regardless of their political alliances or differences in opinion, ’’ said Borhan.

He added that the annual allocation of RM200,000 for Opposition-held constituencies had also been approved for the benefit of the people.

The special economic stimulus package was initiated in the wake of challenges faced by the people due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

The funds are meant to help meet the needs of the people including the supply of face masks and food items.

Borhan’s statement comes following an earlier statement issued by Selangor Opposition chief Rizam Ismail.

Rizam had accused the state government of playing politics over the allocation.

On Monday (March 23), a circular signed by deputy state secretary (development) Dr Nor Fuad Abdul Hamid had said that Opposition assemblymen will not receive the special allocation.

The circular also named the constituencies which would not be getting the allocations which were Bukit Antarabangsa (Datuk Seri Azmin Ali-Bersatu), Gombak Setia (Hilman Idham-Bersatu), Selat Kelang (Datuk Abdul Rashid Asari -Bersatu), Sungai Air Tawar (Rizam Ismail-Barisan), Sungai Panjang (Datuk Mohd Imran Tamrin-Barisan), Hulu Bernam (Datuk Rosni Sohar-Barisan), Sungai Burong (Datuk Mohd Shamsudin Lias-Barisan), Semenyih (Zakaria Hanafi-Barisan) and Sijangkang (Datuk Dr Ahmad Yunus Hairi-PAS).

However, four other Bersatu assemblymen Adhif Syan Abdullah (Dengkil), Mohd Shaid Rosli (Jeram), Sallehudin Amiruddin (Kuang) and Harumaini Omar (Batang Kali) were not included in the list and would probably receive the allocations directly.

The four assemblymen had pledged their loyalty to the state leadership and requested to remain as part of the state government even after Bersatu had ditched the Pakatan coalition to link-up with Umno and PAS.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Next In Nation

Set up independent inquiry to probe Azam Baki shares issue, urge civil society groups
41 nabbed in Tampin for various drug offences
Johor Bersatu to hold meeting with Muhyiddin on preparing for state polls
Tapah MIC division deputy chief dies in accident
Decision on calling Ahmad Zahid to enter defence over Yayasan Akalbudi funds tomorrow (Jan 24)
Covid-19 Watch: 45.1% of Malaysia's adult population have received booster dose
MIC hopes to contest five seats in Johor polls, says party vice president
Johor MCA to hold meeting to plan for state polls
Police rescue six, arrest nine in raid on suspected human traffickers
Armed forces veterans, Orang Asli among 800 appointed as wildlife rangers

Others Also Read