Dr M stays Bersatu chairman, Mukhriz takes on Muhyiddin

  • Nation
  • Tuesday, 17 Mar 2020

Officially in: Bersatu division chief Zulkifli Mohamad (right) submitting the nomination papers for Dr Mahathir at Menara Yayasan Selangor. — Bernama

PETALING JAYA: Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has retained the chairmanship of Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia even as the party announced that all elections are off due to Covid-19.

Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin will take on two others, including Datuk Seri Mukhriz Mahathir, for the president’s post in Bersatu’s inaugural party polls.

Mukhriz, the incumbent deputy president and Kedah Mentri Besar, is vying for the post together with one Mohd Faiz Azli Sham from Cheras Bersatu.

Muhyiddin was nominated by Datuk Abu Bakar Mohamad while Muhkriz was nominated by

his brother Tan Sri Mokhzani Mahathir and seconded by party secretary-general Datuk Marzuki Yahaya.

Party election committee chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar announced this to the media at Bersatu headquarters yesterday after nominations closed at 3pm.

There are three candidates for the deputy president post – Marzuki, Perak Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Ahmad Faizal Azumu and Anas Akashah Nazri from Ampang.

Marzuki was nominated by Mukhriz and seconded by Dr Mahathir.

Syed Hamid said polls for the party’s central leadership and the Annual General Meeting would be postponed according to the directive by the Registrar of Societies (ROS) to defer all gatherings until June 30 due to Covid-19.

“This means that the April 18 date, during which all divisions will vote for the supreme council leadership members as well as for the Srikandi (Women’s wing) and Armada (Youth wing) posts, will be put on hold for now.

“The AGM, from June 26-28, will also be put on hold, ” he added.

For the three vice-president posts, 15 candidates have filed in their papers while 169 candidates, including Special Functions Minister Datuk Seri Mohd Redzuan Md Yusof and Agriculture and Food Industry Minister Datuk Seri Dr Ronald Kiandee, will fight it out for the 20 supreme council seats.

For the Armada chief post, incumbent Syed Saddiq Syed Abdul Rahman will be facing off his former exco, Mohd Zamil Ismail, and former aide Wan Ahmad Fayhsal Wan Ahmad Kamal.

Incumbent Srikandi chief Datuk Seri Rina Harun, who is now the Women and Family Development Minister, will be challenged by four others.

Syed Hamid said all candidates were considered as qualified but would be vetted to ensure that they were not bankrupt, convicted or had practised abuse of power and corruption.

“This check will go on as the election takes place. If we find any reason for disqualification, we will only announce it post election, which means even if they have won, they would lose the position, ” he said.

Article type: free
User access status:

bersatu ,


Did you find this article insightful?


75% readers found this article insightful

Across the site