Johor Umno chief sworn in as MB

  • Nation
  • Saturday, 29 Feb 2020

– Photo courtesy of Sultan Johor royal Press Office

JOHOR BARU: Johor Umno chief Datuk Hasni Mohammad has been sworn in as the 18th Mentri Besar following the collapse of the Pakatan Harapan-led state government.In a statement posted on Sultan Ibrahim Ibni Almarhum Sultan Iskandar’s Facebook page, the Benut assemblyman took his oath before His Majesty at Istana Bukit Serene here yesterday.

Also at the swearing-in ceremony was Tunku Mahkota Johor Tunku Ismail Ibni Sultan Ibrahim.

Hasni stressed that his appointment was a requirement under the law, as well as the prerogative of Sultan Ibrahim.

“With that, His Majesty has used his wisdom under the Undang-Undang Tubuh Kerajaan Negeri Johor 1895 to appoint me as the new Mentri Besar.

“At the same time, a new coalition, of several parties such as Umno, Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia, MIC and PAS, will become the new Johor government, replacing Pakatan, ” he said, adding that the new coalition received a simple majority to form the state government.

Hasni said this during a press conference, which was also attended by state MIC chief R. Vidyanathan, state PAS chief Husin Abdullah and state Bersatu chairman Mazlan Bujang.

He also said he would be discussing with Mazlan and Husin to form the new state executive council line-up, which he said would mirror the racial composition in the state.

“Under the rules, I have been given one week to present my executive councillor line-up to Sultan Ibrahim for consent.

“Even though PAS only has one seat in Johor, we will still be discussing with Husin and Mazlan, ” he said, adding that now is the time to put political differences aside to make Johor great again.

In a statement, Sultan Ibrahim’s private secretary Datuk Jaba Mohd Noah said His Majesty was satisfied that the new coalition had a simple majority during his personal meeting with the state assemblymen on Wednesday.

“During the meeting, 28 of the 56 state assemblymen supported the new coalition, while 26 supported Pakatan Harapan.

“Two were absent, namely the Simpang Jeram and Puteri Wangsa assemblymen, ” he said.

Article type: free
User access status:

Did you find this article insightful?


Across the site