Pakatan reps in Negri unanimous in decision to stay

  • Nation
  • Thursday, 27 Feb 2020

SEREMBAN: The 20 Pakatan Harapan assemblymen in Negri Sembilan were not asked to sign statutory declarations (SDs) when they converged at the residence of Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Aminuddin Harun on Monday to pledge their loyalty to the coalition.

The assemblymen were also not compelled to sign any other document to ensure they would not jump ship later.

Aminuddin said the Pakatan reps were unanimous in their commitment to continue to serve as mandated by their constituents.

“No, I did not make them sign any SD or any other document indicating their support for Pakatan or me.

“They came to my official residence without being compelled and I am glad they spoke in one voice, ” he told reporters after chairing the state executive council meeting at Wisma Negri yesterday.

Aminuddin was responding to talk that the 20 were asked to sign SDs to ensure they would not quit following a move by several PKR MPs and Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysa to leave Pakatan.

Of the 20 Pakatan reps in the state assembly, 11 are from DAP, six from PKR and Amanah three.

Barisan Nasional has 16 with Umno having 15 seats and MIC one.

On a statement by state PAS that there were Pakatan assemblymen waiting to jump ship in Negri Sembilan, Aminuddin said the Islamist party should stop making baseless claims.

“Political developments in recent days have to a certain extent brought some instability to the country and yet you (PAS) want to make such unsubstantiated claims.

“My hope is PAS would realise that such talk will not take us anywhere and we need to respect the mandate given by the people, ” he said.

Separately, Aminuddin said the state government has terminated the appointments of all local councillors from Bersatu with immediate effect.

He said similarly, the state authorities have also revoked the appointments of Bersatu coordinators in six state constituencies since the party has quit the coalition.

“We had to terminate their appointments as they are no longer in Pakatan.

“We had to do it as it involved matters related to administration, finance and policy-making, ” he said.

There are seven councils in the state; all except the Port Dickson municipal and the Tampin district councils have appointed their councillors.

Aminuddin said Bersatu representatives appointed as Village Community Management Council (MPKK) heads would not be affected by the move.

“The MPKK heads will not be affected because they are not involved in state administration and financial matters, ” he said, adding that the tenure of all MPKK heads will end next month.

Article type: free
User access status:

Did you find this article insightful?


Across The Star Online