Perak Bersatu polls to see 1,225 members contesting posts at all levels

  • Nation
  • Friday, 07 Feb 2020

IPOH: There will be five and four-cornered fights for the division chief post of Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia's (Bersatu) Bagan Serai and Lumut divisions in the upcoming party elections.

Perak Bersatu Election Committee chairman Saiful Adli Mohd Arshad said apart from these two divisions, another 15 divisions would see two and three-cornered fights for the post.

“A total of 1,225 Bersatu members will be contesting at all levels, where 535 candidates are contesting in the division level, 372 candidates for Srikandi, and 318 candidates for the positions under Armada.

“There are five divisions which will see no contest for all positions – Tambun, Bagan Datuk, Batu Gajah, Ipoh Timor and Padang Rengas,” Saiful told a press conference on Friday (Feb 7) when announcing the list of candidates contesting in the party elections at its state headquarters here.

Also present were Perak Bersatu deputy chairman Datuk Mohamed Azni Mohd Ali and secretary Datuk Zainol Fadzi Paharudin.

Saiful Adli added that the division chief post in seven divisions were won without contesting.

Those who won unopposed included Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Ahmad Faizal Azumu (Bersatu Tambun division chief), Datuk Iskandar Dzulkarnain Abdul Khalid (Kuala Kangsar), Abdul Malik Karim (Bagan Datuk), Mohader Ahmad Mohammad Ayob (Batu Gajah), Nor Afzainizam Salleh (Ipoh Timor), Azahari Hassan (Padang Rengas) and Kader Maideen Hussain (Taiping).

Nine Armada chiefs and five Srikandi divisions were also won without contest.

“In this election, there are two Bersatu divisions, where the current chiefs are not defending their post.

They are Tanjung Malim division chief Datuk Mohamed Azni Ali, and the Bukit Gantang division chief Datuk Khadri Khalid.
Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Next In Nation

Subsea data cable maintenance quality will be upheld even after cabotage exemption revoke, says Masa
MOH denies hospitals turning away non-Covid-19 patients
Missing boy, 8, was with biological father; found unharmed
Climbing activities at Mount Kinabalu to resume on Dec 7
Najib files 307 grounds of appeal for release from SRC charges
EPF members who have lost their jobs, housewives, total income reduced by 30% qualify for i-Sinar
Muhyiddin holds video call with S'porean PM to discuss HSR project
Covid-19: Five more clusters identified in KL, S'gor, Johor
Gold Theft Auto: Thieves steal car parts to melt into white gold
Reopening of Johor-S'pore border hotly debated during Johor state assembly

Stories You'll Enjoy