Sabah Bersatu supports move for party’s top three posts be uncontested

  • Nation
  • Monday, 03 Feb 2020

KOTA KINABALU: Sabah Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia has reiterated its support that the party’s top three positions be uncontested, says state chief Datuk Seri Hajiji Mohd Noor (pic).

He said that the three top leaders were founders of the party, and their leadership was vital in continuing to lead the country.

Currently, the chairman post is held by Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, while Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin is the party president and Datuk Seri Mukhriz Mahathir is the deputy president.

He said that Dr Mahathir was an exceptional statesman and was still needed to steer the country.

“Sabah Bersatu has agreed and supported the proposal for the posts of chairman, president and deputy president be retained and not to be contested during the party elections,” he said in a statement Monday (Feb 3).

Hajiji, who is also Sulaman assemblyman, was commenting on the call by Terengganu Bersatu for the holders of the three posts be retained.

“We are also suggesting that the other states join us in this matter to retain the holders of the three top posts in the party supreme council during the June election this year,” he said.

“We hope the Bersatu members in Sabah generally, and in the country, will continue to stand strong and support their leadership," he added.

Bersatu will be holding its branch-level meetings from Feb 15 to March 29, and the meetings at division-level are scheduled on April 18, while the party’s annual general meeting will be held from June 25-28.

Article type: free
User access status:

Hajiji Mohd Noor , Mahathir , Bersatu , politics


Did you find this article insightful?


Across The Star Online