39 Bersatu division chiefs win uncontested in party polls

  • Nation
  • Friday, 31 Jan 2020

PETALING JAYA: Thirty-nine Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Bersatu) division chiefs won uncontested in the inaugural party polls at the branch and division level.

Forty-five women's wing chiefs also retained their posts at the division level while another 63 youth wing chiefs managed to win uncontested as well at the division level.

This was announced by Bersatu Election Committee chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar (pic) at a media conference at the party headquarters Friday (Jan 31).

He also announced that the big names who managed to win uncontested were Bersatu chairman and Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad and party president Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin.

Other names include Deputy Foreign Minister Datuk Marzuki Yahya, Youth and Sports Minister Syed Saddiq, Deputy Economic Affairs Minister Datuk Radzi Jidin and Perak Mentri Besar Datuk Ahmad Faizal Azumu.

Suhaimi Yahya, Datuk Razali Idris and Datuk Seri Hajiji Mohd Noor also retained the Baru, Marang and Tuaran chief posts, respectively.

They are all incumbent members of the Bersatu Supreme Council and are expected to contest their party posts at the national level come March.

"We received 11,100 nomination forms for 7,371 positions at 189 divisions (excluding Sarawak) at closing time on Jan 26. Of that, we found 9,452 were qualified to contest for the polls at the branch and division levels.

"The full list of candidates would be announced by the various state Bersatu divisions.

"Any protest against any of the candidates can be made until Feb 14, one day before the branches are expected to hold their annual general meetings," said Syed Hamid.

He further explained that all branches are expected to conclude their polls and meetings by March 29.

"It is a one man, one vote system and for the posts of branch committees, vote is by show of hands. For the division chiefs and division committees, vote is by secret ballot," said Syed Hamid.

Nomination for Bersatu supreme council positions will be open on March 16 and the annual general meeting will be held from June 25 to 28.

For the top three supreme council posts, only members with three years of membership can contest. As for the rest of the positions, they are open to those who have been members for one year or more.

Bersatu currently has 363,131 members nationwide and there are 2,950 branches in 189 divisions except in Sarawak.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Bersatu , Polls , AGM , Uncontested


Next In Nation

Nearly 1.3 million gotten second dose
Why high jab rate matters
RM8bil for subsidies
2.5 million documented foreigners to be jabbed
Travel letters from ministries valid until June 28
Thumbs-up for smooth-sailing Mitec
Immunisation scheme for factory staff to be launched
Cops turn tables on revellers in drug-fuelled party for a doctor
The game goes on for fans
Frontliners on night shift adjust dinner arrangement

Stories You'll Enjoy