Court strikes out counter claim by five former FGV directors

  • Nation
  • Friday, 08 Nov 2019

KUALA LUMPUR (Bernama): The High Court here on Friday (Nov 8) struck out a counter claim filed by five former non-executive directors of FGV Holdings Bhd against the company and 10 others over alleged losses incurred in connection with its acquisition of Asia Plantation Ltd (APP) in 2014.

Judge Datuk Azimah Omar made the decision after allowing an application by FGV and the 10 parties concerned to strike out the counter claim jointly filed by Tan Sri Ismee Ismail, Tan Sri Wan Abdul Aziz Wan Abdullah, Tan Sri Sulaiman Mahbob, Datuk Nozirah Bahari and Datuk Fazlur Rahman Ebrahim.

The decision was made in chambers in the presence of lawyers Andrew Chiew Ean Vooi, representing FGV, and Fahda Nur Ahmad Kamar, for the five individuals.

The five former directors filed the counter claim after FGV sued them for RM514mil over losses incurred by the company following the acquisition of APL.

Chiew, when met by reporters, said the Azimah struck out the counter claim by the five former FGV directors on grounds that it was baseless.

He said Azimah also ordered the five former directors to pay cost of RM8,000 to FGV and set Jan 14 next year for case management of the suit by FGV.

The five former FGV non-executive directors filed the counter claim last Feb 11, naming the company and 10 others as defendants.

The 10 were Datuk Azhar Abdul Hamid, Mohd Hassan Ahmad, Datuk Dr Othman Omar, Dr Mohamed Nazeeb P. Alithambi, Datuk Dr Salmiah Ahmad, Datin Hoi Lai Peng, Datuk Yusli Mohamed Yusoff, Dr Nesadurai Kalanithi, Datuk Mohd Anwar Yahya and Datuk Mohamed Suffian Awang.

On Nov 23,2018, FGV sued its former president and chief executive officer Datuk Mohd Emir Mavani Abdullah and 13 others for RM514mil and other damages.

Four of the defendants were then FGV chairman Tan Sri Mohd Isa Abdul Samad, former chief financial officer Ahmad Tifli Mohd Talha, former vice president (downstream business development cluster) Farisan Mokhtar, and former senior general manager (downstream cluster) Rasydan Alias Mohamed.

The nine others were former no-executive directors Ismee, Wan Abdul Aziz, Tan Sri Sulaiman Mahbob, Datuk Omar Salim, Datuk Noor Ehsanuddin Mohd, Harun Narrashid, Datuk Yahaya Abd Jabar, Datuk Faizoull Ahmad, Nozirah and Fazlur Rahman.

In a filing with Bursa Malaysia, the company said the suit concerned the company’s acquisition of 100% equity interest in APL through a voluntary conditional cash offer in 2014. – Bernama

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 18
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

FGV directors , Court , Corruption


Did you find this article insightful?


Across the site