Ex-state secretary Mustapha among three head list of 1,423 Sabah award recipients

  • Nation
  • Friday, 04 Oct 2019

Mustapha (left) and Marcel Leiking among three to be conferred with SPDK (Seri Panglima Darjah Kinabalu) that carries the title Datuk Seri Panglima.

KOTA KINABALU: Former state secretary Datuk K.Y. Mustapha is one of three people who will receive the highest state award – SPDK (Seri Panglima Darjah Kinabalu) – that carries the title Datuk Seri Panglima in conjunction with the 66th birthday of Sabah Yang di-Pertua Negeri Tun Juhar Mahiruddin's birthday on Saturday (Oct 5).

The others are businessman Tan Sri Joseph Lo @ Lo Tain Foh and veteran Sabah politician Datuk Marcel Leiking, who is the father of International Trade and Industry Minister Datuk Darell Leiking.

The three head the list of 1,423 recipients of state awards and medals.

Sixty-eight people will be honoured with the Panglima Gemilang Darjah Kinabalu (PGDK) that carries the title Datuk.

Among them is Sabah Journalists Association president Muguntan Vanar, who is also Star Media Group Berhad Sabah bureau chief. He is also a deputy news editor.

Others include social activist Anne Keyworth, who dedicated her life's work to help unfortunate children and women in Sabah.

Keyworth, known as Mama Anne and House Mother of the Bukit Harapan shelter home, was born in Penang. She had spent over 40 years helping less fortunate children, who are mainly disabled, at the Bukit Harapan home.

Keyworth was always seen as a voice of the less fortunate in Sabah and bravely rescued women trapped under prostitution rings.

Others to receive the PGDK are Chief Minister Datuk Seri Shafie Apdal's wife Datin Seri Shuryani Shuaib; UK-based Orangutan Appeal Founder and Chairman Susan Ann Sheward; Suria Idris (Sabah and Labuan Prison Department director); former Queen Elizabeth Hospital director Heric Coray; state Water Department director Amarjit Singh; politician and lawyer Lorreto Padua, and state CID chief Jauteh Dikun.

Lawyer Brenndon Keith Soh and 15 others will be given the JP (Justice of the Peace) title, while Sabah Wildlife Department director Augustine Tuuga, SM St Micheal's principal Jennifer Asing, senior police officials – DSP Mohd Firdaus Francis Abdullah and ACP Nasri Mansor – are among 75 to be conferred the Ahli Setia Darjah Kinabalu (ASDK).

Mejar Mohd Zahir Armaya (posthumous), the commando killed during a live fire demo in Lok Kawi Army camp, is among 271 awarded the Ahli Darjah Kinabalu (ADK).

The Bintang Setia Kinabalu (BSK) will be conferred to 456 people; 324 for Bintang Kinabalu and 210 will receive Certificate of Honours (CH).

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 18
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Across the site