Umno goes after more MPs

  • Nation
  • Wednesday, 04 Sep 2019

PUTRAJAYA: Umno continues to pursue legal action against its former lawmakers who have defected after 14th General Election with the filing of three more suits against three Members of Parliament.

It is learnt that suits have been filed against Datuk Dr Abdul Latiff Ahmad (Mersing), Datuk Mohd Fasiah Mohd Fakeh (Sabak Bernam) and Datuk Rosol Wahid (Hulu Terengganu).

The suits were filed last Friday at the Johor Baru, Shah Alam and Kuala Terengganu High Courts respectively.

Lawyer Tan Sri Apandi Ali (pic), who is representing Umno and Barisan Nasional, said they had so far filed suits against six former Umno MPs for breach of contract, unjust enrichment, legitimate expectations and breach of trust.

Earlier, Umno had filed suits against Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed (Jeli), Datuk Seri Hamzah Zainuddin (Larut) and Datuk Seri Ikhmal Hisham Abdul Aziz (Tanah Merah).

The six are among the 13 Umno MPs who left the party for Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia.

The others are Datuk Shabudin Yahya (Tasek Gelugor), Datuk Mas Ermieyati Samsudin (Masjid Tanah) and Dr Noor Azmi Ghazali (Bagan Serai).

Four MPs from Sabah Umno who had also left the party to join Bersatu are Datuk Ronald Kiandee (Beluran), Datuk Abdul Rahim Bakri (Kudat), Datuk Azizah Mohd Dun (Beaufort) and Datuk Zakaria Mohd Edris (Libaran).

Three other MPs – Datuk

Seri Anifah Aman (Kimanis), Yamani Hafez Musa (Sipitang)

and Datuk Syed Abu Hussin Syed Abdul Faisal (Bukit Gantang) – had also left Umno to become Independent while Labuan MP Datuk Rozman joined Parti Warisan Sabah.

Umno is now left with 37 MPs after winning 54 parliamentary seats in the May 9 polls.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Across the site