A blast from the past at National Day parade in Kota Kinabalu

  • Nation
  • Sunday, 01 Sep 2019

Cyclists taking part in the National Day parade in Kota Kinabalu.

KOTA KINABALU: Memories of yesteryear kickstarted the Sabah state-level National Day celebration here.

Convoys of vehicles, bicycles (with many of the cyclists using olden-day styled clothing) and even a land satellite used during the 1950s, 1960s and thereafter, were showcased on the streets of Kota Kinabalu during the National Day parade which started at 7.30am yesterday.Spectators were thrilled at the sight of the old vehicles, which were accompanied by marchers in traditional attire.

Security personnel also marched in their uniforms, carrying various types of firearm.

For the first time ever, Sabah’s football team – The Tambadau – took part in the event which saw a total of 172 contingents comprising 8,500 people from schools, non-governmental organisations, government departments and security forces participating.

Present were head of state Tun Juhar Mahiruddin, Chief Minister Datuk Seri Shafie Apdal, state-level National Day celebration chairman Datuk Peter Anthony, State Speaker Datuk Syed Abas Syed Ali, state ministers and assistant ministers.

At the end of the parade and after a jubilant celebration, Kota Kinabalu City Hall enforcement department was announced as champion of the government department uniformed category while the Customs Department and Sandakan Municipal Council were named second and third place winners respectively.

Sabah Girl Scouts, Kota Kinabalu Tailoring Academy and Papar Sea Scouts were named first, second and third place winners for the non-governmental and association category.

For the ethnic category, Persatuan Bangsa Tombonuo Sabah, Semporna district office representing the Bajau ethnic group and Kadazandusun Murut Association were announced as the top three winners.

There are several other categories contested in the National Day parade as well.

Sabah gained its independence from British rule on Aug 31,1963. For Malaya, independence came earlier in 1957.

Sarawak is not holding any event to mark National Day as it became independent on July 22,1963.

The federation of Malaysia was formed between Malaya, Sabah, Sarawak and Singapore on Sept 16,1963.

However, Singapore left the federation on Aug 9,1965.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Across the site