Saifuddin: 149 businesses now recognised as selected trade zones

  • Nation
  • Wednesday, 17 Jul 2019

JOHOR BARU: A total of 149 businesses nationwide have been recognised as selected trade zones (ZPT) by the Domestic Trade and Consumers Affairs Ministry since 2012.

Its minister Datuk Seri Saifuddin Nasution Ismail (pic) said that the ZPT status would be awarded to 39 businesses this year, bringing the total number of ZPTs to 149 businesses as 110 have already received this recognition.

"The ZPT recognition shows that these businesses behaved in an ethical manner and followed the rules. This initiative is in line with the Government's ambition to make the country into a tourism destination and shopping haven," said Saifuddin.

Saifuddin said this when met after officiating the southern region ZPT recognition ceremony, held here on Wednesday (July 17).

A total of nine shopping malls received their ZPT, including Komtar JBCC, Sutera Mall Johor Baru, Wetex Parade Shopping Centre in Muar, Plaza Kota Tinggi in Kota Tinggi and Square One Mall in Batu Pahat.

Other business premises that received the ZPT were Palm Mall Supermarket in Seremban, Mydin and Aeon Mall in Seremban 2 and the Freeport A' Famosa Outlet in Melaka.

Besides receiving the certification, ZPT recipients would also be promoted as a shopping destination in tourism directories and on the ministry's website.


Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 7
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Across The Star Online