Penang Pakatan council will strengthen coalition ties, says CM

GEORGE TOWN: The Penang Pakatan Harapan Leadership Council will strengthen the cooperation ties among Pakatan Harapan component parties in the ruling coalition of the Penang State Government, says Penang Chief Minister Chow Kon Yeow.

He said the council, consisting of twenty members joined by five permanent representatives from each Pakatan component party, was established after a meeting at Penang DAP office on Sunday (May 19).

“With its establishment, the council will be a main committee for Pakatan in Penang to streamline our work and the coordination between component parties in the state,” he said in a statement posted on Facebook on Tuesday (May 21).

“Although the state government was led by Pakatan since 2008, we will work hard to implement the people’s agenda and the general election manifesto.

“We hope to fulfil the people’s aspirations, as they have always provided solid support to us,” he added.

Chow will chair the council, supported by three deputy chairmen.

They are Deputy Tourism, Arts and Culture Minister, Muhammad Bakhtiar Wan Chik (PKR), Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Seri Dr Mujahid Yusof of Amanah, and Deputy Foreign Minister Datuk Marzuki Yahya from Bersatu.

Senator Lim Hui Ying of DAP holds the secretary's post, while Deputy Agriculture and Agro-based Industries Minister, Sim Tze Tzin of PKR holds the treasurer's post.

 The other committee members in the council include Datuk Ahmad Zakiyuddin Abdul Rahman (PKR), P. Ramasamy Palanisamy (DAP), Jagdeep Singh Deo (DAP), Zairil Khir Johari (DAP), Ong Khan Lee, Jason (PKR), Zulkiefly Saad (PKR), Mohd Rizal Akhir (Amanah), Azahari Aris (Bersatu), Aida Yusof (Amanah), Azlina Mehtab Mohd Ishaq (Bersatu), Mohd Saifullah Abd Nasir (Amanah), Fakhruz-Zaman Ahmad (Bersatu), Zahar Zainul (Amanah) and Mohamad Kamal Fairos Mohamad Ibrahim (Bersatu).


Across The Star Online

Air Pollutant Index

Highest API Readings

    Select State and Location to view the latest API reading

    Source: Department of Environment, Malaysia