Sandakan polls: Candidates cast their votes

  • Nation
  • Saturday, 11 May 2019

Wong (left) and Chia showing their inked fingers after casting their vote in the Sandakan by-election on Saturday.

SANDAKAN: DAP candidate Vivian Wong arrived to cast her vote at SK Muhibbah, one of the polling centres for the Sandakan by-election, at around 8am on Saturday (May 11).

She was accompanied by her eldest sister Benita Wong who also cast her vote at the same polling centre.

Independent Sulaiman Abdul Samat is expected to cast his vote at the same polling centre later in the day, while another independent Chia Siew Yung voted at SK Sungai Anib 1 polling centre at 8am.

PBS candidate Datuk Linda Tsen and independent Hamzah Abdullah are not casting their votes in the by-election as they are registered under the Batu Sapi constituency.

Some 19 polling stations involving 90 polling streams opened at 7.30am where a total of 39,684 ordinary voters are eligible to cast their ballots before the polling stations close at 5pm.

The Sandakan by-election is a five-cornered fight involving DAP, PBS and three independents.

The Sandakan seat fell vacant after the MP Datuk Stephen Wong Tien Fatt died of a heart attack on March 28.

This is the eighth by-election since the GE14, with the first held at Sungai Kandis on Aug 4, Balakong and Seri Setia (Sept 8), Port Dickson (Oct 13), Cameron Highlands (Jan 26), Semenyih (March 2) and Rantau (April 13).

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 7
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Across The Star Online