EC: There are 39,684 eligible voters in Sandakan

  • Nation
  • Wednesday, 08 May 2019

Election Commission Chairman Azhar Azizan Harun.

SANDAKAN: There are 39,684 eligible voters to cast their ballots in the Sandakan by-election on May 11, says Election Commission chairman Azhar Azizan Harun.

Out of the figure, 172 eligible voters have cast their ballots on early voting on Tuesday (May 8).

"In line with that, the EC is urging all voters to fulfil their responsibilities as a voter this Saturday," he said in a statement on Wednesday (May 8).

Azhar, better known as "Art Harun", also urged voters to plan their time well and cast their votes early in the morning.

"Don't go out and vote at the last minute, although voting time is set from 7.30am to 5pm," he added.

He said voters who have received the "voter's card" can head straight towards the voting channel and don't need to check at the EC counter.

For voters without the "voter's card", they are urged to check for information before polling day, adding that such checks can be made at, or call 03-88927018, or use the MySPR Semak app, or SMS to 15888 (type SPRSEMAKIC NO

The Sandakan by-election was called after the sudden death of former MP and Sabah DAP chairman Datuk Stephen Wong Tien Fatt on March 28.

Wong's youngest daughter Vivian, 30, who is also from DAP, would be squaring off against Tsen in a five-cornered fight.

Others in the race as independents are former Sabah PAS and former Sabah Parti Amanah Negara chairman Hamzah Abdullah, 65, businessman Chia Siew Yung, 45, and former political worker Sulaiman Abdul Samat, 36.

The Sandakan by-election will take place on May 11.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 7
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Across The Star Online