110 to cast ballots in early voting today

  • Nation
  • Tuesday, 09 Apr 2019

SEREMBAN: A total of 110 of the 118 early voters in the Rantau state by-election will cast their ballots today, according to the Election Commission (EC).

Seventy-four of them, comprising military personnel and their spouses, will vote at the Sendayan RMAF airbase and another 36, made up of police personnel, will vote at the Rantau police station, EC chairman Azhar Azizan Harun said in a statement yesterday.

“The remaining eight early voters, all military personnel, are voting by post,” he said.

He said the two polling stations would open at 8am and close at noon.

Azhar said after early voting, all the ballot boxes would be kept at the police station lock-up and would only be opened for counting on Saturday at the vote-tallying centre at SJK(C) Bandar Sri Sendayan.

He said the early voting would be witnessed by the agents of the contesting candidates and observers comprising representatives of orga­n­isations and NGOs appointed by the EC.

He also said that the early voting would be streamed live over the EC Facebook facility.

The Rantau by-election on April 13 is a four-cornered contest among anae­sthetist Dr S. Streram of Paka­tan Harapan, Umno deputy president and former Negri Sembilan mentri besar Datuk Seri Mohamad Hasan of Barisan Nasional, and two independent candidates – R. Malarvizhi, a housewife, and Mohd Nor Yassin, a former lecturer.

The by-election has been necessitated by the Federal Court dismissal of an appeal filed by Mohamad to set aside the Nov 16 Seremban Election Court decision declaring his unopposed victory in GE14 null and void.

In GE14, Mohamad was declared the winner after Dr Streram was prohibited from entering the nomination centre to submit his nomination papers because he did not have a pass issued by the EC. — Bernama

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Across the site