EC to send voter cards to 20,922 in Rantau

  • Nation
  • Thursday, 28 Mar 2019

SEREMBAN: The Election Commis­sion (EC) continues taking the initiative to send the voter’s card to 20,922 registered voters in the Rantau state constituency ahead of the by-election on April 13.

EC chairman Azhar Azizan Harun said the initiative was taken to encourage and ease the process for the voters on polling day.

“The sending of the voter’s card to 20,922 voters comprising 20,804 normal voters and 118 early voters, begins today.

“The card contains information such as the voter’s polling centre, channel, number, date and time to vote. This information will ease the process on April 9 for early voters and on April 13 for normal voters,” he said in a statement yesterday.

He said those who received the card need not stop at the EC booth to check the information on the early voting or polling day and could proceed to their polling centres and channels as stated in the card.

“However, voters are still required to bring their identity card to vote,” he said.

Azhar said those who did not receive the voter’s card could check the information at the EC portal,, or via SMS by typing SPR SEMAKIC number and send to 15888, or by calling the EC hotline at 03-8892 7018.

The Rantau state by-election is being held after the Federal Court dismissed an appeal by Umno deputy president Datuk Seri Mohamad Hasan to set aside the Seremban Election Court’s decision on Nov 16 declaring his unopposed victory in GE14 null and void.

Mohamad was declared the winner after Dr S. Streram of PKR was prohibited from entering the nomination centre to submit his nomination papers because he did not have a pass issued by the EC. — Bernama

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Across The Star Online