All to play for in rubber set of All-England men's doubles final (updated)

  • Nation
  • Sunday, 10 Mar 2019

PETALING JAYA: The Indonesian pair of Mohammad Ahsan-Hendra Setiawan have reminded badminton fans why they were once the top-ranked pair in the world.

After going down tamely to Malaysian pair Aaron Chia-Soh Wooi Yik 21-11 in the first set, the Indonesians bounced back to win the second game 21-14 to ensure the thrilling battle goes down to the wire.

The Malaysians got off to a nervy start, trailing the two-time world champions 1-4, but they swiftly settled down and won the next four points to make it 5-4.

Hendra, who is nursing a calf injury sustained from Saturday's (March 9) semi-finals match, looked far from his best.

It was a lop-sided affair after that, with the Malaysians cruising to 11-6 at the interval before easily taking the first game 21-11.

In a gruelling All-England tournament, the pair has crossed some monumental hurdles on their way to the final to meet Mohammad Ahsan-Hendra Setiawan, who were previous champions in 2014.

They first opened their campaign with a come-from-behind 12-21, 21-16, 21-16 victory over Taiwan's Lu Ching-yao-Yang Po-han and then marched further by claiming their third straight win over Kim Astrup-Anders Skaarup Rasmussen of Denmark, beating the fifth seeds 21-19, 21-16.

Aaron-Wooi Yik continued their scintillating run by making 2017 world champions Liu Cheng-Zhang Nan of China their next casualties by triumphing 21-19, 17-21, 21-12.

In Saturday's (March 9) semi-finals, Aaron-Wooi Yik clawed back from a game down to overcome Indonesia's Fajar Alfian-Muhammad Rian Ardianto, the Asian Games silver medallists 12-21, 22-20, 21-19 to advance into the title decider.

Aaron-Wooi Yik will now attempt to go one better and emulate Koo Kien Keat-Tan Boon Heong's feat of winning the prestigious title in 2007.

If the pair are victorious, they will become the ninth different pair from Malaysia to emerge as men's doubles winners since the tournament's inception in 1898.

Besides Kien Keat-Boon Heong, the others who had won previously were Ooi Teik Hock-Teoh Seng Khoon (1949), David Choong-Eddy Choong (1951-1953), Ooi Teik Hock-Ong Poh Lim (1954), Lim Say Hup-Teh Kew San (1959), Ng Boon Bee-Tan Yee Khan (1965-1966), Boon Bee-Punch Gunalan (1971) and Razif Sidek-Jalani Sidek (1982).

The men's All-England men's doubles final can be watched live on television on TV1 as well as Astro channels 801, 802, 817 and 836.

You can also view the match live online at

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 7
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Across The Star Online