Keep Kota Kinabalu UTC open to 10pm, says MP

  • Nation
  • Saturday, 19 Jan 2019

KOTA KINABALU: The federal government should restore the 10pm closing time of the Kota Kinabalu Urban Transformation Centre (UTC), says Sabah DAP secretary Chan Foong Hin.

The Kota Kinabalu MP said the city's UTC was not included in the Jan 12 announcement by the Finance Ministry, which said that the operating hours of the Shah Alam, Keramat, Seremban, Alor Setar, Johor Baru, Kota Baru and Kuala Terengganu UTC would be from 1pm to 10pm on weekdays and 8am to 5pm on weekends.

"This is good news for all Malaysians, I hope that the directive can be extended to UTC Kota Kinabalu," said Chan.

“The UTC used to close at 10pm but they changed it to 5pm starting from Jan 1,” Chan added in a statement on Saturday (Jan 19).

Chan said that the UTC in Kota Kinabalu should be given the same treatment as the above seven UTCs in peninsular Malaysia that will be opened after office hours.

“Kota Kinabalu is a rapidly developing city and those who are working and don’t have time to go to the centre during working hours, they can still go after work if it were to operate until night,” he added.

Commenting on the revised operating hours, Chan said that he understands that the change was made as a government cost-saving measure.

“Nevertheless, the federal government has recognised the reason for the existence of the UTC, and that is to facilitate and make it more convenient for the rakyat to deal with government departments,” he added.

The UTC provides public access to various government agencies including the Road Transport Department, the National Registration Department and Immigration Department under one roof.