EC has submitted list of 13 new Sabah state seats to Dr M

  • Nation
  • Wednesday, 31 Oct 2018

KOTA KINABALU: The Election Commission (EC) has submitted the list of Sabah's 13 new state seats to Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohammad for further action.

This was revealed by EC Chairman Azhar Azizan Harun, said Parti Bersatu Sabah (PBS) secretary-general Datuk Johnny Mositun.

"Today I attended a meeting with the EC to discuss matters pertaining to voter registration. During the session, which was also attended by most of the registered political parties in Malaysia, I asked about the 13 new state seats which were passed by the State Assembly in mid-2016," said Mositun.

The former Deputy State Assembly Speaker said he pointed out that new seats must be passed by Parliament within two years of being gazetted.

"In the case of Sabah's new seats, it has been two years and two months. Is this not unconstitutional? And this was the question I asked the EC Chairman," said Mositun when contacted to ask about the outcome of the meeting on Wednesday (Oct 31).

Mositun said Azhar replied that the list of Sabah's new seats had been submitted to the then Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak but he did not table it in Parliament.

Now with the new government in place, the list had been resubmitted to the new Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir for perusal, Azhar added.

Mositun said he raised the question as it concerned the welfare of Sabahans.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Next In Nation

No cuts, only jabs: Covid-19 vaccinations will not have any jumping of queues, says Health DG
11,000-year-old Perak Man now has a face, thanks to 3D modelling
MMEA stops tugboat and barge carrying 3,000 tonnes of sand
CM: Sabah ready to implement vaccination rollout plan
Covid-19: Penang CM to get jab on Sunday, urges public to give full support to vaccination plan
We respect Umno's seniority in politics, says Sabah Bersatu youth chief
Health Minister, frontliners receive vaccine shots
Perikatan's Election Bureau holds Putrajaya meet
Sabah gets first batch of 16,380 Covid-19 vaccine doses
Convening of Parliament is a return to democracy, says James Masing

Stories You'll Enjoy