EC deputy chairman, four others to quit on Jan 1

  • Nation
  • Friday, 19 Oct 2018

PETALING JAYA: The Election Commission (EC) deputy chairman Tan Sri Othman Mahmood and four commissioners will be ending their tenure prematurely on Jan 1, something which has been agreed upon before news of a tribunal broke.

The four commissioners are Datuk Md Yusop Mansur, Datuk Abdul Aziz Khalidin, Datuk Sulai­man Narawi and Datuk Leo Chong Cheong.

Commissioner Datuk Bala Sin­gam Karupiah will continue his te­­nure as scheduled.

EC chairman Azhar Azizan Harun said the shortening of their tenure was in line with Article 114 of the Federal Constitution.

“The shortening of their service duration has been achieved and agreed by those concerned in a discussion held on Oct 15, before the Oct 17 news reports on the setting up of a special tribunal,” he said.

Azhar was referring to reports that a tribunal would be set up by the government to investigate the many allegations of misconduct committed by the EC in the run-up to the 14th General Election.

The move was reported to be part of the government’s efforts to clean up the EC and possibly remove those commissioners suspected of wrongdoing.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Next In Nation

Girl, 8, injured after being flung from car in accident
Suhakam report won’t be debated in Parliament, says Takiyuddin
Don’t panic: Parliament evacuated ... keep calm, it was just a faulty sprinkler (updated)
Bukit Aman: Suspects in online gambling ring detained under Poca for two years
Psychological, mental crisis in society to be raised in Parliament today (Dec 1)
Have contingency plan for testing, government urged
Agencies iron out screening process
Man who killed step-grandson may have mental issues
Firms rush to get workers’ housing up to standard
Blunder leads to arrests of 10

Stories You'll Enjoy