Manifesto prioritises transformation to give MCA new lease of life

  • Nation
  • Thursday, 18 Oct 2018

KUALA LUMPUR: Datuk Seri Dr Wee Ka Siong has launched his election manifesto, outlining six major areas of focus.

Themed “Rejuvenation of MCA”, top priority in his manifesto is market-oriented organisational transformation.

This is followed by using big data for more effective political messaging in the digital era, upgrading cadre training to enhance the abilities and skills of party members, initiating a new political function of constructive criticism, grassroots-centric and innovative political initiatives, and promoting open-mindedness and cooperation in a diverse society as a political priority.

The MCA presidency candidate, who is MCA’s only MP after the May 9 polls, is leading a team in the MCA battle – Datuk Dr Mah Hang Soon (deputy president); Datuk Seri Ti Lian Ker, Datuk Seri Yew Teong Look, Datuk Lim Ban Hong and Datuk Tan Teik Cheng (vice presidents); and Datuk Chew Kok Woh, Datuk Boey Chin Gan, Daniel Ling, Daniel Wa and Datuk Lawrence Low are among contenders for central committee member posts.

Dr Wee, 50, is in a three-cornered fight for the president’s post with Gan Ping Sieu and Ngoo Teck Keong.

The incoming president will be the 12th in the 69-year-old party.

Citing the Chinese saying “pick up from where we fell”, Dr Wee said he was determined to use his experience after the general election to reform and rebuild the party.

Reflecting on the night of the May 9 elections when MCA candidates fell one by one, Dr Wee said it was painful for him despite winning a tightly fought race with DAP’s Liew Chin Tong for the Ayer Hitam seat.

“But the care and sympathy from party comrades gives me hope again. It is my hope to rebuild the party and I am sure we can together find a way out,” he said.

This party polls will see two teams vying for the post of president, deputy president, four vice presidents and 25 central committee members.

With Dr Mah as his running mate, Dr Wee’s team is dubbed WeeMah.

The other team is GanTee where Gan Ping Sieu and Datuk Tee Siew Kiong are vying for the post of president and deputy president respectively.

Outgoing MCA president Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai is rooting for WeeMah while former MCA president Tan Sri Dr Chua Soi Lek is backing GanTee.

Coming: Spotlight on Gan Ping Sieu

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

News , bureaus


Did you find this article insightful?


Across the site