Barisan retains its three Perak state seats, rules Elections Court

KUALA LUMPUR: The Elections Court here ruled that Barisan Nasional are still the victors in three Perak state seats, namely for the Hutan Melintang, Changkat Jong and Lubuk Merbau constituencies.

This follows the order by the High Court's Justice Collin Lawrence Sequerah after allowing preliminary objections raised by three Barisan respondents on Friday (Sept 28).

They are Hutan Melintang assemblyman KhairuddinTarmizi, Changkat Jong assemblyman Mohd Azhar Jamaluddin and Lubok Merbau assemblyman Jurij Jalaludin.

The petitions were filed separately by G. Manivannan from PKR for Hutan Melintang, Faizul Mohamed Ismail from Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia for Changkat Jong, while Zulkarnine Hashim (Pribumi) for Lubok Merbau.

Justice Sequerah found that the three petitions in the three constituencies did not follow the Election Offences Act 1954.

He said there were irregularities pertaining to the details in the petitions filed and the facts mentioned were not clear.

"I declare the three respondents from Barisan are the valid state assemblymen elected," he said.

Justice Sequerah instructed Manivannan, Zulkarnine and Faizul to each pay RM10,000 in costs to the respective state assemblymen.

In the petitions filed on June 18, the three applied for a court order to revoke the election results in GE14.

Manivannan, Faizul and Zulkarnine claimed that there were corrupt practices during campaigning.