EC to hold special meeting to discuss key dates for Port Dickson by-election

  • Nation
  • Wednesday, 12 Sep 2018

PETALING JAYA: The Election Commission (EC) will be holding a special meeting to discuss key dates for the Port Dickson by-election, following the resignation of current PKR MP for Port Dickson, Datuk Danyal Balagopal Abdullah. 

In a statement on Wednesday (Sept 12), its deputy chairman Tan Sri Othman Mahmood said the EC received the notice from Dewan Rakyat speaker Datuk Mohamad Ariff Md Yusof after the seat fell vacant. 

Othman added that the special meeting will discuss the date of the election writ, nomination and polling day, as well as deciding which electoral roll would be used in the by-election, amongst other preparations. 

"The date of the special meeting will be announced by the EC at a later date," it said. 

Earlier, Danyal announced that he will be vacating his seat to pave the way for incoming PKR president Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim to contest in the seat. 

The impending by-election, triggered by Danyal's exit, will be the fourth held since GE14, following Sungai Kandis and the recently concluded Balakong and Seri Setia polls on Sept 8.

In GE14, Danyal won the Port Dickson seat with 36,225 votes while VS Mogan of Barisan Nasional tallied 18,515 votes and PAS' Mahfuz Roslan garnered 6,594 votes. This gave Danyal a comfortable majority of 17, 710 votes.