Perak state assembly elects PKR’s Ismail Yusof, DAP’s Nga Hock Cheh as senators

  • Nation
  • Monday, 13 Aug 2018

IPOH: PKR election committee secretary Ismail Yusof and DAP’s Nga Hock Cheh have been elected as Perak senators.

Ismail, 60, was nominated by Abdul Yunus Jamhari (PH-Kuala Kurau) and seconded by Tan Kar Hing (PH-Simpang Pulai).

Nga, 66, who is also Perak DAP committee member and a lawyer, was proposed by Howard Lee Chuan How (PH-Pasir Pinji) and seconded by Wong May Ing (PH-Pantai Remis).

Both got 31 votes in the state assembly sitting on Monday (Aug 13).

Datuk Saarani Mohamad (BN-Kota Tampan) proposed former Ipoh City Councillor Datuk Shamsuddin Abdul Ghaffar, 69, while Razman Zakaria (PAS-Gunung Semanggol) nominated Muhammad Ismi Mat Taib, 44, who contested the general election for the Bota state seat and lost.

Both were seconded by Datuk Samsudin Abu Hassan (BN-Ayer Kuning) but failed to get enough support. Both men received 28 votes.

The sitting also saw the appointment of Leong Cheok Keng (PH-Malim Nawar) as the Perak Public Accounts Committee chairman.

The seven-member committee also includes Chong Zhemin (PH-Keranji) as deputy chairman, Aznel Ibrahim (BN-Pengkalan Hulu), Datuk Mohd Khusairi Abu Talib (BN-Slim), Yahya Mat Nor (PH-Pasir Panjang), Sandrea Ng (PH-Teja) and Razman Zakaria (PAS-Gunung Semanggol).

The committee was proposed by Terence Naidu (PH-Pasir Berdamar) and supported by Muhd Fadhil Nuruddin (PH-Kamunting).

State Speaker Datuk Ngeh Koo Ham was also elected as the chairman for the Standing Order Committee, Rights and Privileges Committee and a special select committee to study the need for a new state assembly building.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Across the site