Three names stand out in race for Umno Youth, Wanita and Puteri wings

  • Nation
  • Sunday, 24 Jun 2018

KUALA LUMPUR: The Umno wings elections were a long-drawn affair at the Putra World Trade Centre.

As of midnight, there was still no official announcement although Da­­­tuk Asyraf Wajdi Dusuki, Datuk Dr Noraini Ahmad and Datuk Zahida Zarik Khan appeared to be ahead in the race for the Youth, Wa­nita and Puteri wings respectively.

A majority of the 150,000 delegates from 191 divisions and 20,000 party branches, who voted for the new chiefs, seemed to favour the trio.

As at 12.30am today, Asyraf who is also a supreme council member and Pahang Youth chief Mohd Shahar Abdullah were in a close race in their battle for the Umno Youth chief post.

Both Asyraf and Mohd Shahar obtained the support of 20 divisions each but got 2,767 and 2,541 delegate votes respectively.

Sungai Besar division chief Datuk Seri Jamal Yunos, who also contested the post, failed to win over any division, receiving the support of only 40 delegates.

Khairul Azwan Harun, the vice-chief when Khairy Jamaluddin helmed the Youth wing, got the backing from 15 divisions and 1,835 delegates.

As for the Wanita chief post, it was a neck-and-neck race between Dr Noraini and Datuk Azizah Mohd Dun from the get go.

Both had the support of 32 divisions each but the delegate votes differed with Dr Noraini leading the tally with 8,974 votes. Azizah had 7,456 delegate votes.

The other contender, former Wanita chief Tan Sri Siti Zaharah Sulaiman, failed to capture the support of any division but got the votes of 531 delegates.

Zahida is the clear favourite for the Puteri chief post, obtaining the backing from 71 divisions and 5,518 delegates.

Her contender Nor Hazreena Mohamad Hashim managed to win over just nine divisions and 1,049 votes from delegates.

Umno executive secretary Datuk Seri Ab Rauf Yusoh told an earlier press conference last night that 74 of the 191 Umno division chiefs had won uncontested.

Some of the big names who won were Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak (Pekan), Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi (Bagan Datuk), Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed (Jeli), Datuk Seri Azalina Othman Said (Pengerang), Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein (Sembrong), Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz (Padang Rengas), Tan Sri Noh Omar (Tanjong Karang), Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor (Putrajaya), Datuk Seri Mahdzir Khalid (Padang Terap), Datuk Seri Zambry Abd Kadir (Lumut) and Datuk Seri Bung Moktar Radin (Kinabatangan).

As for division Youth chiefs, Ab Rauf said 85 of them won uncontested. They included Najib’s son, Moha­mad Nizar Mohamad Najib, who became the Pekan Youth chief.

The official results are expected to be announced at 5pm today.

Ab Rauf said this was decided as the headquarters had yet to get the full results from many divisions as of midnight.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Politics , umno wings. elections


Did you find this article insightful?


Next In Nation

Covid-19: 16 detainees at Mantin lockup test positive
Cops raid online gambling centre, 20 arrested, including nine foreigners
Suspected drug dealer nabbed after 45-minute car chase near Simpang Renggam
Late lawyer leaves lasting legacy, says Melaka CM in offering condolences
Do you know... about the traditional Malay houses?
Non-compliance is worrying
‘Strict enforcement definitely needed’
NSC to consider many factors before deciding on CMCO
Stimulus packages cushioning blow
The positive knock-on effects of Permai, Penjana and Prihatin

Stories You'll Enjoy