Nine election petitions filed in Sabah

  • Nation
  • Tuesday, 19 Jun 2018

Launching a challenge: Loretto (left) talking to the team of lawyers appointed to handle the case outside the High Court in Kota Kinabalu. — Bernama

KOTA KINABALU: Nine GE14 election petitions, including those invol­ving former chief minister Tan Sri Musa Aman and members of his family, have been filed by Parti Warisan Sabah and PKR at the High Court here.

Warisan is challenging the results of four parliamentary and four state seats while PKR is disputing the outcome of the Pensiangan parliamentary seat.

Warisan secretary-general Loretto Padua said the parliamentary seats were Kimanis, Sipitang, Keningau and Libaran, while the state seats were Sungai Sibuga, Kundasang, Sook and Kiulu.

Musa’s brother Datuk Seri Anifah Aman (Umno) took Kimanis while Sipitang was won by his son, Yamani Hafez (Umno).

Keningau was won by Datuk Dr Jeffrey Kitingan (Sabah STAR) while Datuk Zakaria Mohd Edris (Umno) won the Libaran seat.

Musa secured the Sungai Sibuga state seat allegedly after numerous recounts, while Datuk Jaochim Gun­sa­­lam (PBS) won Kundasang.

Sook was retained by its incumbent Datuk Ellron Angin (PBRS) and Datuk Joniston Bangkuai (PBS) also managed to retain his Kiulu seat.

Loretto said these eight petitions were filed based on confidence of success.

He said the cases were filed on the grounds of money politics, postal vo­­ters and late signing of Form 14.

Eight teams of lawyers, one for each case, have been appointed.

The petitions are expected to be served through various means, inclu­ding by publication in newspapers.

PKR’s Pensiangan candidate Ra­­mond Ahuar said it was believed money politics was at play in the area.

The seat was won by Barisan’s PBRS candidate Arthur Joseph Kurup.

Warisan, which contested 45 out of the 60-seat Sabah state assembly, won 21 seats while its allies DAP won six and PKR two.

Barisan won 29 seats and Sabah STAR, which aligned with Barisan after GE14, got the remaining two.

For Sabah’s 25 parliamentary constituencies, Warisan contested 16 and won eight seats.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

utilities , bureaus


Did you find this article insightful?


Next In Nation

Racial harmony, rebuilding economy, political principles will be MCA's three main focuses, says Dr Wee
Covid-19: Nigerian variant does not affect ability to detect, trace infected persons
Dr Wee: Political stability, building bridges to unite the rakyat are MCA’s core values
MCA will back BN in GE15, says Dr Wee
MMEA detains tanker for docking illegally in Selangor waters
Six business owners in Sibu fined for violating CMCO
Signboard at Ampang Puteri Specialist Hospital catches fire
Malaysia needs selfless leaders, says MCA sec-gen
Muhyiddin arrives in Jeddah to begin official visit to Saudi Arabia
Govt initiatives to address urban income disparity

Stories You'll Enjoy