Parliament to commence on July 16

  • Nation
  • Wednesday, 06 Jun 2018

PETALING JAYA: Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has announced that the first Parliament meeting of the 14th Dewan Rakyat will commence on July 16 to carry out the Government's promise of repealing several laws.

Dr Mahathir said that the Dewan Rakyat will sit for 20 days.

“In that time, we will discuss several papers and work on the repealing several laws as we promised,” said Dr Mahathir after a Cabinet meeting on Wednesday.

“The Goods and Services Tax (GST) will be abolished. The Anti-Fake News Act will also be abolished, as well as the other laws we promised,” he said.

Dr Mahathir said that the swearing in and the speech from the Yang Di-Pertuan Agong will be held on July 16.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 18
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Across The Star Online