Tian Chua disqualified from Batu seat, four others running

  • Nation
  • Saturday, 28 Apr 2018

PETALING JAYA: Tian Chua (pic) has been disqualified from contesting from Batu parliamentary seat on the grounds of his RM2000 fine imposed by Shah Alam High Court.

Returning officer Anwar Mohd Zain made this decision.

There are four other candidates: Datuk Dr Dominic Lau from BN-Gerakan, Azhar Yahya, the Batu PAS chief and two other independent candidates, P. Prabakaran and Datuk Panjamorthy Muthusamy.

Prabakaran is a 22-year old law student while Panjamorthy was a former MIC member.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Next In Nation

Civil society organisations play important role in policymaking, says Sabah Sports Minister
PM's Dept: Viral post about Ismail Sabri being appointed PETRONAS chairman is fake
MIC to turn down deputy minister posts if offered, says party sec-gen
RM600bil questions: MACC likely to call three former cabinet members for questioning
Wisma Putra: No Malaysian victims involved in recent Bandung bomb attack
GE15: BN candidate Johari retains Tioman state seat
DID issues flood preparedness notice for five states
Johor lawmaker urges state to redraw maritime border with Singapore
1MDB trial: Najib fails in latest attempt to remove Sri Ram
5G: Comms and Digital Ministry to meet Finance Ministry over rollout, says Fahmi

Others Also Read