Yong Teck Lee to contest KK parliamentary seat

  • Nation
  • Wednesday, 25 Apr 2018

KOTA KINABALU: Former Sabah Chief Minister Datuk Yong Teck Lee (pic) will be contesting the Kota Kinabalu parliamentary seat for the first time.

The Sabah Progressive Party (SAPP) president is the party's sole parliamentary candidate, while SAPP is contesting another four state seats; Inanam, Likas, Api Api and Luyang.

Yong said that the SAPP demonstrates full autonomy as it enjoys full independence in forming its own decisions.

"SAPP is an autonomous party and decisions on candidates need not get approval from anyone in the peninsula," said the former Likas assemblyman.

SAPP is part of the Gabungan Sabah opposition pact, a four party coalition that includes SAPP led by Yong, Sabah STAR led by Datuk Dr Jeffrey Kitingan, Parti Harapan Rakyat Sabah led by Datuk Lajim Ukin, and Parti Perpaduan Rakyat Sabah led by Mohd Arshad Abdul Maulap.


Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Next In Nation

Majority of MPs have received two doses of a Covid-19 vaccine, says Speaker
Empty syringe issue: Police urge recipients to lodge reports
S'gor Health Dept ramping up preparations in hospitals to face surge in Covid-19 cases
Three MPs among Covid-19 cases detected in Parliament ahead of special sitting
Muhyiddin: NRP's success needs support from all parties
Drive-through durian: Kota Baru goldsmith gives away 1.2 tonnes of king of fruits
No changes to NRP thresholds for now, says Muhyiddin
Covid-19: Three MPs test positive, four more close contacts, says report
Ismail Sabri: 49 premises closed for breaching Covid-19 SOPs
Covid-19: Nine localities in Perak, Pahang, Kedah, Sabah under EMCO from July 26, says Ismail Sabri

Stories You'll Enjoy