Sarawak BN announces GE14 candidates list

  • Nation
  • Tuesday, 24 Apr 2018

KUCHING: Sarawak Barisan Nasional has unveiled its candidates for 31 parliamentary seats, with 14 new faces among them.

Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg announced the candidate list at Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) headquarters here on Tuesday (April 24).

One of the new faces is Sarawak United People's Party (SUPP) president Datuk Dr Sim Kui Hian, who will take on state DAP chairman Chong Chieng Jen in Stampin.

Datuk Hanifah Hajar Taib, the youngest daughter of Sarawak Governor Tun Abdul Taib Mahmud, is another new face who will be fielded in Mukah.

Incumbents dropped include Deputy Energy, Green Technology and Water Minister Datuk James Dawos Mamit, who will not defend his Puncak Borneo seat due to health reasons, and Minister in the Prime Minister's Department Datuk Joseph Entulu who was sacked by Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) on Sunday (April 22).

Among the state component parties, PBB and SUPP are fielding six new faces each, PRS two and Progressive Democratic Party (PDP) one.

Among the state component parties, PBB is fielding six new faces, SUPP five, PRS two and Progressive Democratic Party (PDP) one.

"As far as PBB is concerned, the former MPs willingly stepped down for health and other reasons.

"We also want to give opportunity to the young leaders and I thank the incumbents who have decided to give way to the young," Abang Johari said.

He added that the new faces were a mix of young people and those with experience who could guide the younger ones.

"We are preparing young leaders to move forward for Sarawak," he said.


The full list of Sarawak Barisan Nasional candidates:

P192 Mas Gading - Nogeh Gumbek (PDP)

P193 Santubong - Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar (PBB)

P194 Petra Jaya - Fadillah Yusof (PBB)

P195 Bandar Kuching - Kho Teck Wan (SUPP)

P196 Stampin - Sim Kui Hian (SUPP)

P197 Kota Samarahan - Rubiah Wang (PBB)

P198 Puncak Borneo - Genot Sinel (PBB)

P199 Serian - Richard Riot (SUPP)

P200 Batang Sadong - Nancy Shukri (PBB)

P201 Batang Lupar - Rohani Abdul Karim (PBB)

P202 Sri Aman - Masir Kujat (PRS)

P203 Lubok Antu - Robert Pasang Alam (PRS)

P204 Betong - Robert Lawson Chuat (PBB)

P205 Saratok - Subeng Mula (PDP)

P206 Tanjong Manis - Yusuf Abdul Wahab (PBB)

P207 Igan - Ahmad Johnie Zawawi (PBB)

P208 Sarikei - Huang Tiong Sii (SUPP)

P209 Julau - Joseph Salang Gandum (PRS)

P210 Kanowit - Ago Dagang (PRS)

P211 Lanang - Kelvin Kong Sien Chiu (SUPP)

P212 Sibu - Andrew Wong Kee Yew (SUPP)

P213 Mukah - Hanifah Hajar Taib (PBB)

P214 Selangau - Rita Sarimah Insol (PRS)

P215 Kapit - Alexandar Nanta Linggi (PBB)

P216 Hulu Rajang - Ugak Kumbong (PRS)

P217 Bintulu - Tiong King Sing (PDP)

P218 Sibuti - Lukanisman Awang Sauni (PBB)

P219 Miri - Sebastian Ting (SUPP)

P220 Baram - Anyi Ngau (PDP)

P221 Limbang - Hasbi Habibollah (PBB)

P222 Lawas - Henry Sum Agong (PBB)





Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Next In Nation

Hostel for workers in Cameron Highlands under probe for failing to provide amenities
Hajiji wants Sipitang Oil and Gas Industrial Park developed to full potential as petroleum downstream hub
Guan Eng: No DAP-Umno partnership for GE15 but cooperation possible on people-centric issues
Covid-19: 1,529 new cases, Selangor still top with 726 cases
PKR sec-gen seeks MACC meeting to hand over evidence of bribery involving MPs
Covid-19: 200 reports received from whistleblowers over vaccine queue jumping
Melaka CM reveals vision for RM100bil economic corridor project
Council of Federal Datuks: Arrests of suspects involved in fake Datukships a positive step
Don't politicise village head appointments, Johor Umno treasurer tells Bersatu
Johor hopeful for border reopening with Covid-19 vaccine drive

Stories You'll Enjoy