Barisan Kadazandusun Murut parties to cooperate to ensure big win in GE14

File photo of PBS acting president Datuk Seri Dr Maximus Ongkili at Parliament.

File photo of PBS acting president Datuk Seri Dr Maximus Ongkili at Parliament.

KOTA KINABALU: Three Kadazandusun-Murut parties in Barisan Nasional have met to minimise disunity or sabotage and to maximise their chances of winning seats in GE14.

20 state and 10 Parliament seats are being targeted by Parti Bersatu Sabah (PBS), United Pasokmomogun Kadazandusun Murut Organisation (Upko) and Parti Bersatu Rakyat Sabah (PBRS).

The three parties held their inaugural (joint) presidential council meeting on Tuesday (April 17), following up on their "special committee on cooperation" which was set up two months ago.

PBS acting president Datuk Seri Dr Maximus Ongkili said their main objective is "maximum unity for maximum win".

"The committee will also limit to the smallest possible any issues of disunity or sabotage," Dr Maximus said in a press conference after chairing the meeting, which was also attended by Upko president Datuk Seri Wilfred Madius Tangau and PBRS president Tan Sri Joseph Kurup.

Dr Maximus said while the parties have cooperated before, the special committee will enhance the election machinery to move more effectively.

"Most importantly, in Kadazandusun Murut constituencies, we are committed to support each other for maximum win," said Dr Maximus.

"We have a common goal to ensure that we win the 20 state and 10 Parliament seats that we will contest."

PBS will take 13 state seats, Upko six, and PBRS will contest one.

For Parliament, PBS will take five seats, Upko four, and PBRS will contest one.

"We should cooperate and move in unison to win every seat that has been given to our parties," added Kurup.

On discussions of seat swaps being done between the three parties, Dr Maximus said they were still ongoing and will be finalised soon.

"Seat swaps have been discussed but not finalised. Refinements are still being done," he said, confirming that the state seats of Bingkor and Kadamaian are among those on the list.

Bingkor is held Datuk Dr Jeffrey Kitingan, the president of Opposition party STAR Sabah. He is the brother of PBS president Tan Sri Joseph Pairin Kitingan.


Related story:

Keeping up with the Kitingans