Nga Kor Ming to take on Mah Siew Keong in GE14

TELUK INTAN: Perak DAP chairman Nga Kor Ming will be contesting the Teluk Intan parliamentary seat in GE14.

The announcement was made by DAP secretary-general Lim Guan Eng during a Pakatan Harapan roadshow here on Monday night (April 16).

Lim, after making the announcement on stage, said that Nga will be made a Cabinet minister if Pakatan takes over Putrajaya in the election.

Also present were DAP adviser Lim Kit Siang, Amanah president Mohamad Sabu, PKR president Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail, Perak DAP adviser Datuk Ngeh Koo Ham and other Pakatan leaders.

Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Pribumi) chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad was supposed to make the announcement, but was not present at the roadshow.

Nga will take on Gerakan president and incumbent Datuk Seri Mah Siew Keong, with the move said to be part of a DAP strategy to attack Barisan Nasional from the north and south.

It was reported earlier that DAP central leaders had decided that Nga would take on Mah, who won the Teluk Intan seat in the May 2014 by-election.

Nga - who was the Taiping MP prior to the dissolution of Parliament on April 9 - was coy when asked which seat he was contesting, adding that an announcement would be made at the right time.

Mah first contested the Teluk Intan seat in 1999 and successfully defended it in 2004.

However, he lost in his next two outings to DAP in 2008 and 2013.

He managed to recapture it in a by-election in May 2014 after the seat fell vacant following the death of incumbent Seah Leong Peng from DAP.

The by-election saw Mah edging DAP’s Dyana Sofia Mohd Daud with a razor-thin majority of 238 votes.


Nga Kor Ming , Mah Siew Keong , GE14 , DAP , Gerakan , Teluk Intan