Kedah Ruler heads Negri honours list

SEREMBAN: Kedah Ruler Sultan Sallehuddin Ibni Almarhum Sultan Badlishah (pic) heads the list of 693 recipients of titles and awards to mark the 70th birthday of the Yang Di-Pertuan Besar of Negri Sembilan Tuanku Muhriz Tuanku Munawir today.

He is the sole recipient of the Darjah Kerabat Negeri Sembilan, which is the state’s highest award.

Tuanku Muhriz’s second prince, Tunku Zain Al-Abidin, is the sole recipient of the Darjah Seri Setia Tuanku Muhriz Yang Amat Terbilang (SSTM), which carries the title Datuk Seri.

State Speaker Datuk Dr Awaludin Said and Datuk Dr Ronald Stephen McCoy, the Malaysian founder behind Nobel Prize winning anti-nuclear group International Campaign to Abo­lish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN) will be bestowed the Darjah Seri Setia Negeri Sembilan (SSNS), which also carries the title Datuk Seri.

Recognition: (From left) Dr Thavanaison, Faizah, Wong and Dr McCoy. 

McCoy was also a co-president of the Inter­na­tio­nal Phy­sicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War and the founder of ICAN, a coalition of 468 NGOs advocating a nuclear weapons-free world.

State Secretary Datuk Mat Ali Hassan said Seremban High Court judge Abu Bakar Jais, Johol assemblyman Abu Samah Mahat and state financial officer Datuk Johani Hassan are among seven individuals bestowed the Darjah Dato’ Paduka Negeri Sembilan (DPNS), which carries the title Datuk.

Kuala Lumpur High Court Judicial Commissioner Datin Faizah Jamaludin is the sole recipient of the Darjah Setia Tuanku Muhriz Yang Amat Gemilang (DSTM), while 25 others will receive the Darjah Setia Bakti Negeri Sembilan (DBNS), both carrying the title Datuk.

They include state development officer Ali Luman, state police chief Deputy Comm Datuk Noor Azam Jamaludin, UPM Sports Academy director Prof Dr Shamala K. Subramaniam, NSCMH medical centre director Dr A. Thavanai­son and businessman Wong Kok Koan.

Mat Ali said 31 individuals will receive the Darjah Setia Negeri Sembilan (DNS) award, Darjah Tuanku Muhriz (two), Darjah Pekerti Terpilih (18), Ahli Setia Negeri Sembilan (109), Setiawan Tuanku Muhriz (one), Pingat Khidmat Cemer­lang Masyarakat (173), Pingat Jasa Kebaktian (291), Pingat Khidmat Lama (16) and Bentara Tuanku Muhriz (15).

The awards presentation ceremony will take place in stages at Istana Besar Seri Menanti today, on Jan 18 and Jan 25.

Family Community , titles and awards