Rep denies talk of PKR members following ‘Mike Tyson’

  • Nation
  • Tuesday, 19 Sep 2017

KLANG: A Selangor PKR politician denied talk that he and his party members will follow Tan Sri Muhammad Muhammad Taib to join Umno.

“This is not true and it’s a fabrication,” said Sri Muda assemblyman Mat Shuhaimi Shafiei, who is political secretary to PKR deputy president Datuk Seri Azmin Ali.

He was commenting on an online news report which said Muhammad was supposed to appear with eight elected representatives with him at Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak’s press conference on Sunday. However, the report claimed that the defections were aborted at the 11th hour.

Mat Shuhaimi alleged Muham­mad must have misled Najib into believing the defections would take place.

“He must have misled Najib into believing we would be tagging along with him to join Umno,” he added.

Besides Mat Shuhaimi and Azmin, who is Bukit Antarabangsa assemblyman, there are eight other Malay Selangor PKR assemblymen: Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail (Kajang), Dr Idris Ahmad (Ijok), Amiruddin Shari (Batu Caves), Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad ( Seri Setia), Haniza Mohamad Talha (Kg Medan), Yaakob Sapari (Kota Anggerik), Rodziah Ismail (Batu Tiga) and Dr Daroyah Alwi (Sementa).

Amiruddin, Nik Nazmi and Dr Daroyah are state exco members.

Muhammad joined PAS in 2013. But the former Selangor mentri besar, also known as Mat Taib or Mike Tyson, left to join PKR in 2015.

Mat Shuhaimi said Muhammad’s departure from PKR was not a big deal as he only played an “insignificant role” in the party.

State exco member Datuk Iskandar Samad of PAS also rubbished talk of a coup.

“It doesn’t make sense that he (Muhammad) could bring several state assemblymen with him to join Umno.”

Iskandar, who is PAS vice-president, claimed Najib’s announcement could be a sign that the Prime Minister had lost confidence in state Umno chief Tan Sri Noh Omar.

If the defections had taken place, there was a possibility of the Pakatan Harapan state government being overthrown with the formation of a joint state government made up of the eight defectors, 12 Barisan Nasional assemblymen, 13 PAS assemblymen and former mentri besar Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim, who is now an independent assemblyman.

The new alliance would have formed a 34-member state government in the 56-seat Selangor legislative assembly.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Politics , muhammad muhammad tai , umno , pkr


Next In Nation

Fleecing with maid fees
Some desperate enough to pay premium for maids
Thomas in sedition probe
Countering the counterfeit tide
Fake ringgit circulation is low in the country, says Bank Negara
Roti canai listed as the king of street food
Deal struck on Parliament dissolution
Malaysia regains Cat 1 International Aviation Safety Assessment safety rating, says Dr Wee
PM to seek audience with King to present potential parliament dissolution dates
PM to seek audience with King to present possible Parliament dissolution dates

Others Also Read