Pakatan Harapan adds two more VPs in leadership line-up

  • Nation
  • Monday, 11 Sep 2017


KUALA LUMPUR: Pakatan Harapan has added two more vice-presidents to its leadership line-up in order to better represent the Sabahan and Indian communities, said Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.  

Speaking at a press conference at Wisma Amanah Negara here on Monday, the Pakatan Harapan chairman announced that the new vice-presidents were DAP's M. Kulasegaran and Sabah PKR chief Christina Liew.   

This brings Pakatan Harapan's vice-president line-up to six people. 

The position of treasurer, formerly held by Kulasegaran, was given to Parti Amanah Negara (Amanah) vice-president Datuk Husam Musa.  

The four other vice-presidents are PKR deputy president Datuk Seri Azmin Ali, Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia deputy president Datuk Seri Mukhriz Mahathir, Amanah deputy president Salahuddin Ayub and DAP's Chong Chieng Jen.  

Dr Mahathir also told reporters that Pakatan Harapan planned to meet Home Minister Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, who is also Deputy Prime Minister, over the coalition's status, logo and constitution.  

Pakatan Harapan had made the application to the Registrar of Societies (RoS) in July but has yet to receive approval.  

"The approval is necessary for us to begin making preparations for the general election, especially in regards to the coalition's logo and symbol," said the former premier.  

He added that the coalition would be sending a letter requesting to meet Dr Ahmad Zahid to find out if the authorities have any issues over the matter.  

"We are prepared to make changes if necessary," he said.



Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Across The Star Online