Sarawak Barisan has candidate list for Pujut by-election

  • Nation
  • Saturday, 03 Jun 2017

KUCHING: Sarawak Barisan Nasional has received the list containing the names of several candidates for the Pujut by-election, said Chief Minister Datuk Amar Abang Johari Tun Openg.

The state Barisan chairman said the final decision on the candidate would be made at the Sarawak Barisan meeting expected to be held before the nomination process.

"We already have the names but I will make the announcement after the. Whether the BN would field a 'direct candidate' will also be scrutinised and would depend on the situation," he said.

Abang Johari said this at a media conference after distributing the Aidilfitri Contribution for the Satok state constituency here on Saturday.

The Election Commission has set July 4 for polling and June 20 for nominations.

The by-election for the Pujut seat was called after its incumbent, Dr Ting Tiong Choon, was removed by the Sarawak Legislative Assembly on May 12 for allegedly having Australian citizenship.

In the May 2016 state-polls, Dr Ting won the Pujut seat with a majority of 1,759 votes in a four-cornered fight against direct Barisan candidate Datuk Hii King Chiong, PAS' Jofri Jaraie and Fong Pau Teck, who contested as an independent candidate.

Fong, a former Pujut assemblyman, contested after DAP decided not to field him in the election. - Bernama



Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Across the site