Status quo for PAS VP posts as Nasaruddin's bid fails

  • Nation
  • Monday, 01 May 2017

ALOR SETAR: It is status quo for the vice-president posts in PAS as all incumbents retained their positions for the 2017-2019 term in the party polls.

The results, announced on the last day of the 63rd PAS muktamar on Monday, saw Bukit Gantang MP Idris Ahmad garnering 1,062 votes.

Deputy Kelantan Mentri Besar Datuk Mohd Amar Nik Abdullah won 950 votes while Cempaka assemblyman Datuk Iskandar Samad, who is also the Selangor executive councillor, garnered 703 votes.

Party information chief and Temerloh MP Nasaruddin Hassan Tantawi, who was the sole contender for a VP post, failed in his bid, and only managed to garner 478 votes.

The trio received the mandate from the 1,102 delegates to be the "right arm" of president Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang and deputy president Datuk Tuan Ibrahim Tuan Man, who retained their posts unopposed.

Outgoing PAS Youth chief Nik Mohd Abduh Nik Mohd Aziz made it into the 18-member central committee, winning 1,005 votes, the highest number of any contender.

The results were announced by party election committee chairman Datuk Wan Abdul Muttalib Embong.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Next In Nation

MCO for whole of Malaysia
Whole of society approach needed to battle virus, say experts
Selcare: Majority of younger virus carriers are asymptomatic
Selangor Sultan calls on people to celebrate Aidilfitri moderately, be vigilant
Sabah to stick with CMCO guidelines until May 17 despite nationwide MCO
Khairy: HIDE able to identify potential Covid-19 hotspots despite blind spots in system
Penang shopping centres flagged by HIDE system to reopen after sanitisation
Covid-19: Genting cluster among 19 new clusters identified
Celebrations for Hari Raya in Sarawak limited to first day and close family only
Dang Wangi cops crack down on call centre offering fake investments

Stories You'll Enjoy