Late Abdul Ghafar Baba and Zabidi to receive Datuk Seri Utama title on City Day

  • Nation
  • Wednesday, 01 Feb 2017

PETALING JAYA: Former deputy prime minister, the late Tun Abdul Ghafar Baba (pic) and former Public Service Department (PSD) director-general Tan Sri Mohamad Zabidi Zainal head the list of 375 recipients of awards and medals conferred in conjunction with this year’s Federal Territory day.

The awards and medals will be presented by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong Sultan Muhammad V at Istana Negara today.

The late Abdul Ghafar and Mohamad Zabidi have been bestowed the Darjah Kebesaran Seri Utama Mahkota Wilayah (SUMW) which carries the title Datuk Seri Utama.

The late Abdul Ghafar who was the deputy premier between May 10, 1986 until Oct 15, 1993, will be represented by his eldest son, Mohamad Tamrin Abdul Ghafar at the investiture ceremony.

A total of 19 individuals were awarded the Darjah Kebesaran Seri Mahkota Wilayah (SMW) which carries the title Datuk Seri including Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Abdul Rahman Dahlan, Second Finance Minister Datuk Johari Abdul Ghani, International Trade and Industry Ministry (Miti) secretary-general Datuk Jayasiri Jayasena and Communications Advisor to the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Farid Ridzuan.

Farid receives the Datuk Seri award

Other recipients of the award include PA Resource Sdn Bhd chairman Datuk Lau Kuan Kam, Al Rajhi Bank Malaysia chairman Datuk Dr Nik Norzrul Thani Nik Hassan Thani, and Malaysia Building Society Bhd president, chief executive officer Datuk Ahmad Zaini Othman and CRSC Holdings Berhad chairman Datuk Low Wui Keong.

The others include Malaysian Punjabi Chambers of Commerce and Industries president Datuk Daljit Singh Dalliwal, Makkal Sakthi president Datuk R. Thanenthiran, Datuk Mohd Shafei Abdullah and Datuk Haji Ahmad Ismail, both from Umno.

A total of 76 individuals were awarded with the Panglima Mahkota Wilayah (PMW) which carries the title Datuk including Women, Family and Community Development Ministry secretary-general Dr Rose Lena Lazemi, Tourism Ministry deputy secretary-general Dr Junaida Lee Abdullah, and Health Ministry’s Oral Health principal director Dr Noor Aliyah Ismail.

Other recipients include Mah Sing Group Berhad chief executive officer and executive director Ho Hon Sang, Penang MCA youth chief Lee Beng Seng, SkyBus Airport Transfers chief executive officer Chris S. Thiagarajah and Lim Keng Guan of Ecovest Berhad.

Another 32 individuals were awarded the Johan Mahkota Wilayah (JMW), 75 individuals were awarded the Kesatria Mahkota Wilayah (KMW), 76 individuals the Ahli Mahkota Wilayah (AMW) and 95 others received the Pingat Pangkuan Mahkota Wilayah (PPW).

Among the sports personalities honoured include Leo Leslie Armstrong (athletics) receiving JMW while badminton coach, Jeremy Gan and players Goh Wei Shem and Tan Wee Kiong, taekwondo’s Lee Wan Yuen and archer Mohamad Hassin Sharudin getting KMW.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 7
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Government , FT awards


Across The Star Online