Heritage activist Khoo Salma among five new faces in Penang councillor line-up

GEORGE TOWN: Heritage activist Khoo Salma Nasution is among five new faces appointed to be councillors in Penang Island City Council (MBPP) for this year.

The Penang Heritage Trust vice-president was nominated to represent Penang Forum and will take over from Dr Lim Mah Hui, who recently announced that he would decline reappointment as councillor.

Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng and Local Government, Traffic Management and Flood Mitigation Committee chairman Chow Kon Yeow announced the new councillor line-up at a press conference Wednesday.

The other new faces include PKR's Tan Chiew Choon, Shahrudin Mohamed Sahriff and two others from NGOs - Shung Yin Ni and Noor Syazwani Mohd Amin.

The swearing-in of the 24 MBPP councillors will take place at City Hall tomorrow.

Lim and Chow also announced the line-up of Seberang Prai Municipal Council (MPSP) councillors at the same press conference.

Dr Lim was reported as saying that he no longer wanted to serve because “the change in Penang that we want doesn’t seem to be happening”.

He had served as a councillor for six terms.

Khoo, who is a Penang Forum steering committee member, was proposed as his replacement.