Sultan Muhammad V takes oath of office as Yang di-Pertuan Agong

  • Nation
  • Tuesday, 13 Dec 2016

KUALA LUMPUR: The Sultan of Kelantan, Sultan Muhammad V (pic), has taken the oath of office as the 15th Yang di-Pertuan Agong in a ceremony steeped in tradition and customs at Istana Negara.

The Sultan of Perak, Sultan Nazrin Shah, also took the oath of office as the Timbalan Yang di-Pertuan Agong.

Their Majesties were elected by the Conference of Rulers at its 243rd (Special) Meeting at Istana Negara on October 14, and will reign for five years from Tuesday.

Sultan Muhammad V, 47, succeeds the Sultan of Kedah, Sultan Abdul Halim Mu'adzam Shah, who completed his reign as the 14th Yang di-Pertuan Agong on Monday.

Tuesday's ceremonies at the Balairong Seri (throne room) began with the 244th (Special) Meeting of the Conference of Rulers held in conjunction with the taking of oath of office and signing of the instruments of office by their majesties. - Bernama
Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Next In Nation

Shouting match in Parliament after deputy minister accused of showing middle finger
Covid-19: No new cases detected at USM hospital
Mat Sabu sues Harakahdaily for defamation
Video on unhygienic handling of Bengali bread goes viral
Man threatened to shoot IGP, attack Bukit Aman and Mindef
Indian community not sidelined under Budget 2021, says National Unity Minister
Cops want review of Dutch model's conflicting post-mortem reports
Madius: Upko not consulted on Warisan’s no show during bloc voting in Parliament
Dr Wee: No bloc votes? That's why Pakatan is consistently inconsistent
Bangsar murder: Three more arrested

Stories You'll Enjoy