Shafie’s new Parti Warisan

  • Nation
  • Tuesday, 18 Oct 2016

PUTRAJAYA: Parti Warisan Sabah is the new name of the party taken over by former Umno vice-president Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal.

The Semporna MP said the Registrar of Societies (RoS) approved the name change of Parti Pembangunan Warisan Sabah, which was formed in 2013.

He said the RoS also gave the green light for the party’s new constitution and logo, adding that the party would be known as Parti Warisan in short.

“We will be a Sabah-based party with a multi-racial make-up,” Shafie told reporters at the RoS headquarters here yesterday.

Shafie, who was sacked as Cabinet minister last year, quit Umno in July and announced that he would helm a new party in Sabah.

He declined to join Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia, which is led by sacked deputy prime minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, saying that he preferred a Sabah-based platform.

Shafie will lead the party as president with Penampang MP Darell Leiking, formerly of PKR, as his deputy.

Sulabayan assemblyman Datuk Jaujan Sambakong (ex-Umno) and Likas assemblyman Junz Wong (ex-DAP) are the vice-presidents, while Moyog assemblyman Terence Siambun (ex-PKR) is the party treasurer.

Kadazan Dusun Murut Malaysia organisation president Datuk Peter Anthony is the third vice-president.

Completing the interim committee line-up are Loretto Padua Jr, who is the party secretary-general and Datuk Aziz Jamman, the Youth chief.

On working with other parties, including those from Pakatan Harapan, PAS or other Sabah-based opposition parties, Shafie said the party would be open to this.

On working with former Sabah PKR chief and Klias assemblyman Datuk Lajim Ukin, who is said to be forming a new party, Shafie said he had no information on what Lajim planned to do.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Across the site