Kelantan Sultan is Malaysia's 15th Yang di-Pertuan Agong

  • Nation
  • Friday, 14 Oct 2016

KUALA LUMPUR: Sultan Kelantan Sultan Muhammad V was chosen as the 15th Yang di-Pertuan Agong at the 243rd (special) Conference of Rulers held at Istana Negara here Friday.

In a statement, Keeper of the Rulers' Seal Datuk Seri Syed Danial Syed Ahmad said the appointment would take effect on Dec 13, for a period of five years.

Sultan of Perak Sultan Nazrin Muizzuddin Shah was selected as the Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong for the same period.

The special conference attended by all the Malay rulers was chaired by Raja of Perlis Tuanku Syed Sirajuddin Putra Jamalullail.

The current Yang di-Pertuan Agong is Tuanku Abdul Halim Mu’adzam Shah, the Sultan of Kedah, whose five-year term as King effective from Dec 13, 2011 will end this Dec 12. 

Tuanku Abdul Halim, 88, made history as the only Sultan who has been King twice in his lifetime. 

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Sultan Kelantan , Agong , King , Malaysia


Did you find this article insightful?


Across the site