Malaysia on track to ratifying TPPA before 2018 deadline

  • Nation
  • Saturday, 24 Sep 2016

KUALA LUMPUR: The Trans-Pacific Partnership Agreement (TPPA) will come into effect as long as six countries accounting for 85% of the bloc’s GDP ratify the agreement, says International Trade and Industry Ministry secretary-general.

Datuk J. Jayasiri said Malaysia is on track for the ratification before the 2018 deadline.

“We have to do the necessary amendment to 18 legislation, which is ongoing right now,” he said.

Jayasiri was speaking at The King’s Discourse on the TPPA here organised by King’s College London Alumni Malaysia and Columbia University Alumni Association.

He told reporters that all 12 countries in the TPP have 24 months to ratify the agreement, following the signing in February this year in Auckland, New Zealand.

The agreement would come into force 60 days after that.

Should the TPP fall through, Jayasiri said Malaysia would find ways to engage with the four countries within the bloc which Malaysia does not have an existing free trade agreement (FTA) with.

The 12 countries that negotiated the TPP included Malaysia, the United States, Japan, Australia, Peru, Vietnam, New Zealand, Chile, Singapore, Canada, Mexico and Brunei.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

TPPA , Malaysia , 2018


Next In Nation

MetMalaysia: North Sumatra hit by quake, tremors may be felt in parts of Malaysia
Johor stable and not affected by GE15 talk, says MB
Muhyiddin calls for sudden Perikatan meet at coalition's headquarters
Aid convoy to remote Orang Asli settlements in Kelantan forced to turn back
Local authorities in Tawau should be proactive in dealing with flash floods, says Liew
Claims MACC will be 'bound' by political directives if under Parliament mere perception, says Rais
Ailsa Terry appointed new British High Commissioner to Malaysia
Najib's 1MDB trial postponed to Oct 11 after lawyer Shafee falls ill
Seven Bills tabled to abolish death sentence
High Court dismisses application by Penang assemblymen to amend anti-hopping challenge

Others Also Read