Pakatan Harapan picks ex-scientist as candidate in Kuala Kangsar by-election

KUALA KANGSAR: It's going to be an explosive by-election here.  

A three-corner fight is now set as Pakatan Harapan has announced former nuclear scientist and Kuala Kangsar Parti Amanah Negara vice-chairman Prof Dr Ahmad Termizi Ramli (pix) as its candidate for the June 18 polls.  

Amanah president Mohamad Sabu announced this here on Thursday.  

In his speech, Dr Ahmad Termizi, 61, said he felt touched by the trust shown by the leadership in choosing him.  

"It's a heavy responsibility but one that I and the party must take.  

"There's no option, else the country will be in ruins," he said.  

He will face Barisan Nasional's Datin Mastura Mohd Yazid and Perak PAS women’s wing chief Dr Najihatussalehah Ahmad.  

Dr Ahmad Termizi, a former Universiti Teknologi Malaysia physics professor and Malaysian Society for Nuclear Science member, was born in Kampung Suak Petai, Kuala Kangsar.  

The father of nine children is currently a radiology health and safety consultant and a Malaysian Association of Medical Physics committee member.  

The parliamentary seat became vacant following the death of Datuk Wan Mohammad Khair-il Anuar Wan Ahmad in a helicopter crash in Sarawak early last month.

The by-election could also see a four-way tussle with Pusat Bandar Taman Chempaka Umno Youth deputy secretary Syed Rosli Harman Jamalullail making known his intent to contest as an independent candidate.  

Nomination is set for Sunday.  

In his speech prior to the announcement, Mohamad Sabu said Pakatan would fight until they take over Putrajaya.  

"When Malaysia make changes, the people will benefit," he said.  

Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng said the candidate by Amanah officially sets them in Perak. 

"It will be a tough battle. But in Pakatan Harapan, we will stand together no matter how difficult the battle," he said.  

PKR president Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail urged the people to support Amanah's candidate to strengthen the voice of Pakatan.